PDA

View Full Version : taking KF seriously...

Lee Kwan Shan
10-03-2004, 05:43 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum.

I've been training in Wha Lum Tan Tui praying mantis for several years, and I've seen alot of people come and go from my school. People don't like it because I'm learning from a real martial artist who believes that martial arts should be a lifestyle.

Now what I want to know is.... at what point did people start thinking that martial arts is just a child's play thing, or even an on-the-side hobby. I think it all started when it travelled to the west where eastern philosophy wasn't regarded as "legit". Guns and pills were considered legit. This led to the creation of the McDojo, in where building somebody's self esteem comes first, even if it means handing them their rank.

My school doesn't believe in that, and people come in and slack off thinking that they can get to black belt in a year, and they realize that this school isn't Tokyo Joe's. I just belt-tested a few newbies the other day and the didn't know any of their stuff. They'd forget parts of their form, it was pathetic. They didn't study at all, and they only did good on the written part of the test. Also, during the drills that we went through they didn't push themselves at all, I was NOT impressed.

One girl went out and my instructor told her to do the "8-Chain" punch, a short, fundamental "kata-like" kung fu form that every student learns their first day. She started doing 16 Hands, the first form out of the Jut Sow mantis style. Sifu was like "that wasn't too bad, but I said do 8-Chain punch". And she suddenly freaked out and said "well you did tell me I had to know that!" and he replied simply with "actually, I told you to remember everything."