PDA

View Full Version : New to Wing Chun

Jada
10-18-2004, 07:25 PM
Hi All!!
I am new to Wing Chun and I love it. The more I learn about it the better it gets. I'm still trying to get down SLT and practice it everyday. I am having a hard time with the footwork and I feel like I am holding back my class. Everyone is very understanding, and I think thats great. But any advice besides practicing to help me learn it quicker. All the words almost sound alike to me, any way to remember them better? Thanks for your help!!

Jenn

YongChun
10-18-2004, 08:07 PM
What lineage are you training in? Is the footwork part of the SLT? What footwork are you talking about that you have difficulty with?

Ray

Toby
10-18-2004, 08:10 PM
Originally posted by Jada
But any advice besides practicing to help me learn it quicker.Stay away from the forum ;).

Seriously, a month isn't long to have learned. Don't worry too much if you aren't picking up on everything just yet. It'll come. I've only learned for a short while too, but repetition helps (both with the names of "moves" and the moves themselves). Footwork? If you've only learned a month I'm surprised you're doing much anyway. Give it time, and practice as much as possible *shrug*. Same as everything - you get out what you put in.

stonecrusher69
10-18-2004, 08:58 PM
good luck with your trainning!!! I assume when you say footwork you mean opening and closing the horse?

Jada
10-18-2004, 09:03 PM
Hi All,
It's the pivoting part and the moving of the fist as your moving. Not too sure of the name but it's the one movement when take a step and pivot or pivot and take a step. The triangle movement not so bad. I'm just not sure.

AmanuJRY
10-18-2004, 09:49 PM
Welcome Jada.:D

As Ray (YongChun) suggested, if you state your lineage there may be some on the board who know your instructor's approach to teaching better than others.

As for the terminology...don't be too critical about the spelling.;)

Mr Punch
10-18-2004, 11:43 PM