PDA

View Full Version : Kung Fu Games

azwingchun
08-16-2001, 11:32 PM
I have been studying the martial arts for almost 28 years now and the teacher/student relationship when there is a parting of the two never stops to amaze me. No wonder there is so much disagreement on who has the true style/system they teach, or who comes from who (lineage). Since this is the Wing Chun forum I will refer to Wing Chun only, though I as well have all of you who have been in the martial arts awhile have also seen what I am about to discuss. And I also would like some of your feedback as well.

I see on other Wing Chun forums how this instructor leaves his Sifu and then the Sifu as well as the school talks trash about the departed instructor. They make remarks on how his Kung Fu sucks and he wasn't a very good teacher, etc. The Sifu might even go as far as denying even training him or that this guy stole his system. I really find this to be disturbing. Not to mention that if the Sifu says this person's sucks, what does this say about the Sifu who trained him and actually was the one who promoted him/her. Hopefully not that he or she just hands out the title instructor to anyone who has the money to test?!?!? I recently read a thread on another Wing Chun forum on how this student left his school and his Sifu sent him very rude e-mails, talking trash (whatever happened to that great moralaity that Kung Fu supposedly teaches?). What are these Sifu s worried about? Is lineage so important? And so what if someone goes off and trains with someone else or just chooses to teach the system they have learned, not to mention bought and paid for in some cases?

We always see and hear about these instructors who claims to have trained under some well known Sifu but says he had felt the need to move on, and the Sifu he says he left denies ever even knowing him/her. No wonder the Wing Chun family tree is so screwed up.