PDA

View Full Version : Kung Fu Shoes

Jeff Bussey
10-21-2004, 01:04 PM
So what do you guys think of training in those traditional kung fu shoes that are slippery on tiled floor vs. running shoes vs. barefeet?

Do you see any benefit for either one?

I started training in the kung fu slippers for about 2 years and then went to indoor soccer shoes. I'm just wondering if you guys think that the slippers could make your horse stronger because you're not relying on the grip from other soles.

J

Ernie
10-21-2004, 01:20 PM
hmmm let me see what year is this 2004 right

train in what you walk around in :D

if you live in the 1800 and in china the i guess you have wear whats out there

while were at bring back the horse and buggy ;)

taltos
10-21-2004, 01:36 PM
I personally agree with Ernie. Train in what you normally wear.

However, for the sake of not destroying the mat and costing even more money for upkeep, we compromise with softer soled shoes that won't destroy the mat at my school.

-Levi

YongChun
10-21-2004, 03:27 PM
Even the Wu Shu guys in China wear modern running shoes and workout clothes while some on this continent try to immitate the people from old day China with slippery slippers and silk pajamas.

Wear what you might fight with is best unless you expect to get attacked mostly while you are having a shower or a bath. In that case train by taking a bath fully clothed and with steel toe boots. If you are studying some African art should you dress up like Tarzan did?

Ray

old jong
10-21-2004, 03:34 PM
We have no uniform at my place and we wear normal shoes.I would hate to disguise as an old times chinese guy to practice Gung Fu.

Jeff Bussey
10-21-2004, 04:28 PM
Hey guys,
Basically that was my opinion and why I switched to indoor soccer shoes. Plus they're black and match my kung fu pants :D

anerlich
10-21-2004, 04:33 PM