PDA

View Full Version : How Often Do You Spar?

Reggie1
10-25-2004, 02:05 PM
With the huge number of posts I've seen in the last couple of days, I was just curious as to how often different people spar, and how much of it they include in their training. I'm a total noob to the MA world, and was just curious what different people thought as 'good' sparring time.

And I was thinking of 'sparring' as working against active resistance.

FatherDog
10-25-2004, 03:29 PM
Three to five times a week, depending on how busy I am.

SimonM
10-25-2004, 03:37 PM
2-3 15-30 minute long bare hand matches per week.

1-6 2-4 minute long kick-boxing or boxing matches per week.

Depending on how and when I have to work and the availability of training partners.

wiz cool c
10-25-2004, 04:06 PM
Push once a week and box once a week.

FngSaiYuk
10-25-2004, 04:30 PM
1-3 times a week depending on my partners' schedules.

'good' sparring time = developing/improving technique. If I'm able to nail down the timing for a particular technique and apply it or improve, then it's good. Technique can be just about anything - it's especially good if the technique is a counter for something I couldn't deal with too well in the past.

Dark Knight
10-25-2004, 04:36 PM
I was sparring 5 time a week when I taught full time, now its 2 times a week.

Experience is the best teacher, fight with as many people as you can. A good instructor will coach you.

Enforcer-
10-25-2004, 08:26 PM
most thai boxing gyms spar on wednesdays but in my current gym I ask people if they want to spar sometimes so I do it mroe often 2-3 times per week. And in Thailand they play fight or spar slowly (like systema) so they dont egt injured since they fight all the time. So hard sparring in essence isn't needed if you fight enough (hence back in the day kung fu masters would fight all the time as well vs bandits and challenge matches).

joedoe
10-25-2004, 08:28 PM
Once a week until I got injured.

MoreMisfortune
10-25-2004, 08:30 PM