PDA

View Full Version : attn: toby

rubthebuddha
11-13-2004, 01:28 AM
hey tobers -- how much has your produce bill gone up since you started juicing. and how much fruit do you go through per week?

Toby
11-13-2004, 05:58 AM
Hey rub,

Dunno. I'm not good with bookkeeping. Plus I haven't had a regular juice a night. Just when I feel like it. It takes me about 1/2 hour from start to finish to make a juice, drink it and clean up and pack away, so I need the time as well. If I had one every night, I could easily go through a bag of apples, a bag of oranges, a bunch of celery, a bag of carrots and a medium ginger root a week say, with a bag being say a couple of pounds. Add to that whatever's in season e.g. for us at the moment watermelon is dirt cheap. So are strawberries. So if I were drinking a large 20-25 fl. oz. juice a day, I could spend probably around US$10 a week on it. At the moment probably 1/2 that with just the occasional juice every couple of days. Since you brought it up, I'll have one after training tonight ;). Just went shopping today too, so I'm stocked. Dunno - that's all an estimate. Ask Ka, he's been doing it for a while.

Each time I go shopping (for 5 of us) I seem to spend the same amount - AUD$150-$200. We've got two kids that wear nappies (diapers), so that's a fortune in comparison to a stocked fruit bowl ;). The extra fruit wouldn't make a noticeable difference in the bill.

On a related note, I finally got some organic soil and a bunch of wheatgrass seeds today so in a couple of weeks I should be downing a shot or two of that a day as an experiment.

Ford Prefect
11-13-2004, 08:36 AM
Rub,

I juice too. My produce bill has gone way up since I started a few weeks ago. I definately need to find a place that sells bulk. It tastes so much better than store bought though and you can make your own combos. I'd say it's worth it. Oh. Cleaning sucks too. ;)

Toby
11-13-2004, 08:42 AM