PDA

View Full Version : Real experience

Dash Iros
11-13-2004, 07:42 PM
I've been pratcising artial arts for 3 years now and I was wondering if some real fighting experience (like a street fight) would be a nice experience for improving my fighting. I mean ... that is the only way to truly test your abilities...
Tell me what you tihnk about it.

Samurai Jack
11-13-2004, 08:20 PM
You should post this thread on the Kung fu forum. You'll get 'lots of useful information over there.

Serpent
11-13-2004, 10:20 PM
Actually, you should post it on the reality forum...

gfx
11-13-2004, 11:05 PM
How did you train during the 3 years?

What did you study?

I'd say put on some gears and go full strength with striking/throwing/ground, once you get really comfortable with that, take off some gears, i.e have only the glove and shinguard, plus a mouth guard. Then go from there.

don't go around picking fights.

edit: Oh I see, taekwondo. Have some gears and fight without taewondo rules with some experienced striker/grapplers is a good idea.

_William_
11-13-2004, 11:12 PM
No, don't pick a fight with someone just to gain fighting experience. It is more trouble than its worth.

Dash Iros
11-14-2004, 05:22 AM
Well , I've trained lots of martial arts with different masters , but I never specialized in only one kind of martial art. I also read lots of books like Bruce Lee's book about Jeet kune do , which he invented. I also trained at least 1 hour a day ever since I was 12 until today.

FooFighter
11-14-2004, 08:37 AM
I have been involved in physical culture of strength and martial culture since I was in my teens. To have a serious and to come to a common ground of understanding may I asked how you defined "real fighting experience?"

As you know, this definition or question you are asking may vary accordingly to the particular indivdual. I may be incorrect but I am assuming you're speaking about actual unexpected violent encounters instead of sport related combat?