PDA

View Full Version : Kung Fu vs. [...]

Gar Imagi
11-14-2004, 04:03 PM
Hey, I'm new to martial arts, so forgive me if I sound naive.

While doing research on the best martial art for me, I've scavenged around P2P programs and websites to find video on various martial arts vs. other martial arts...

And sadly... Way sadly... I've found that a lot of the videos of Kung Fu vs. [Karate, Muay Thai, Kickboxing, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Etc.], kung fu loses...

Now, distraught, because for the little stint I have had in martial arts, I have had a profound respect for Kung Fu as the precedence and the power behind all more modern martial arts, I asked some other folks who study Karate, Muay Thai, etc. (basically the newer martial arts), and most said that while Kung Fu is a great martial art, because of it's out-dated system and styles and long, slowly diluting line of teachers, it has become sort of the inbred martial art of the bunch. (Their words, not mine.)

Now I guess my real question is, do you have any opinion or proof that kung fu could stack up to the newer stuff like Karate, Muay Thai, Kickboxing, Jeet Kune Do, etc...

And if so, do you have any videos of it? I hate seeing the kung fu competitors get their ass kicked so much! Jeez!

SevenStar
11-14-2004, 04:18 PM
I'm a muay thai guy, but....

1. don't worry about what others say. find a good school and train there. The training methods are more important than the style.

2. if you are worried about the rep of kung fu, strive to change it. Once you become proficient, compete. hard. train with guys from other styles and learn from them. see how you are able to do against them.

3. If you aren't currently training anywhere, send a PM to oso - he's in NC and may know of some good schools in youre area.

Gar Imagi
11-14-2004, 04:22 PM
Oh, no, no, no.