PDA

View Full Version : Oral Presentation on Tai Chi

KungFuGuy!
11-23-2004, 12:40 PM
I'm a U student taking Police Sciences and am supposed to do an oral report based on some research on relaxtion techniques, so I've decided to do my report on tai chi. Thing is, most of my students know tai chi as something old people and hippies do. I wonder how I should go about getting a good message out on the art in 3 minutes. Any ideas? I'm also debating demonstrating some movements, though I'm afraid this will get me laughed at :(

GLW
11-23-2004, 02:53 PM
You are about to go down a bad path...

First, you are in a classroom environment. There was, from your description, a clear assignment "to do an oral report based on some research on relaxtion techniques"

You also state that you have 3 minutes.

Now, Taijiquan DOES indeed work very well for calming the mind and has relaxation uses. It ALSO has other aspects.

You need to keep in mind : WHO YOUR AUDIENCE IS and WHAT THE ASSIGNMENT WAS.

While you may be tempted to explain about the martial aspects of Taijiquan, a simple mention of its origins as a martial art and its continued practice as such by many is about all you have time for.

Also, if you delve into those areas, you will NOT have time to his the reasons for the assignment...the relaxation aspect...and so you will probably make yourself feel better but get a lower grade.

Stick to the assignment. Your main audience and the person you have to "Please" is the instructor. Unless you have a desire to butt heads with the instructor or a wish to crash and burn your GPA....give the instructor what they asked for...

In 3 minutes, it will all be over ...and you will not have educated or enlightened anyone much in that short space of time anyway.

emre
11-23-2004, 04:21 PM
Tai Chi is not a relaxation exercise.

bamboo_ leaf
11-23-2004, 07:18 PM
(Relaxation techniques)