PDA

View Full Version : Eagle Claw Form: 8 Step Continuous Punching

Oso
11-23-2004, 02:12 PM
Ba Bu Lin Wa. Spelling could surely be wrong.

Just looking for information on this form.

TIA

Shaolinlueb
11-23-2004, 09:02 PM
what do you want to know? i have some knowledge on it. .

ngokfei
11-24-2004, 12:19 AM
bat bo lin wan kuen = 8 step connecting fist

a recent addition to the eagle claw curriculum I've only seen it in 2 schools and both are from the Chan Tzi Ching Lineage.
is a set found in many northern styles, especially ones that have a link with the Ging Wu group.

3 kicks: jumping slap toe, heal stretch kick and an inside crescent.
5 claws: inward catch with a throat seize, double inside catch, catch and press, Circle Claw and punch, Ying yang Catch
plus some chops, hooks and palms.

nice quick set

you can find it in Sifu Wing Kit Lam's book.

Oso
11-24-2004, 07:39 AM
shaolinlueb, thanks. seemls like ngokfei answered most of my questions on it. just wanted more history on it.

it's in the Pong Lai Mantis curriculum of Master Shr. very early, essentially the 2nd set.

is a set found in many northern styles, especially ones that have a link with the Ging Wu group.

so, it's not originally an eagle claw set?

or are you meaning that because the eagle claw system was taught in Ging Wu that it ended up in other systems?

The description you give is in concordance with how it is being taught in Pong Lai. Shifu Kevin Brazier (Tainan Mantis) has produced a tape with this form, ling and 2 person drills and techniques.

I agree, it's a great quick set. Very fun to perform.

Just had to learn it because it was skipped in my learning but now that Pong Lai USA is starting to standardize our curriculum I needed to get it.

Can you give me the title of the book?

Thanks !!

ngokfei
11-24-2004, 09:36 AM
There are very few "original" eagle claw sets. Most are modified northern sets.

go to this link:

www.kungfumaster.com.hk

Sifu Wing Kit Lam has written books on:
Chin Woo