PDA

View Full Version : Coverage - Mr. Lo or Mun Hung

melfid
09-08-2001, 05:06 PM
Hi,

I practice Wing Chun in california. Recently, I'm doing some research and I wonder if you could assist me.

What is coverage in Wing Chun. I find a lot of referrence to this concept in your posts. Please share.

Thanks,
Dan

[This message was edited by DanM on 09-09-01 at 08:17 AM.]

mun hung
09-08-2001, 09:34 PM
Kinda busy today. I'll try to respond tonite. Anyone else care to help Dan out with covering?

melfid
09-09-2001, 03:08 AM
Hi Mun Hung,

I had a chance to meet Marcus, who is a student of your(?) Sifu. I think Jan 2000. We spoke about Wing Chun, but he didn't bring up covering. Now I am reading through your posts and I find only references to it.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>In the method of Wing Chun that I am studying...we always cover. Our definition of covering is anticipating and protecting the area that is open to an attack rather than wait for the strike to come and block it. This way you are always one step ahead of your opponent rather than behind him. [/quote]

I don't get it. You hands and feet can only be one place at a time. How can you possibly "cover" an area that is open? I am not discounting this theory. I just don't get it.

Man, there sure are many different views on those techniques from your site.

By the way is Mr Lo = Marcus?

Thanks,
Dan

"He felt that his whole life was some kind of dream and he sometimes wondered whose it was and whether they were enjoying it."

mun hung
09-09-2001, 09:11 AM
I believe the answer's there.

reneritchie
09-09-2001, 07:38 PM