PDA

View Full Version : OT: Torn Meniscus

MonkeySlap Too
12-02-2004, 11:38 AM
Okay, going to doctor next week. What can I expect in regards to surgury/recovery time?

I figure half the people on this board have had this injury...

SevenStar
12-02-2004, 11:46 AM
Mine has been strained, but not torn...

Shaolinlueb
12-02-2004, 12:28 PM
im no doctor. but get it removed,or whatever they do. rest it according to the doctor and work yourself back into training.

FuXnDajenariht
12-02-2004, 12:34 PM
ooooh, i thot it said Tom Meniscus. i dont know who that is but im still disappointed... :o

Judge Pen
12-02-2004, 12:56 PM
It depends if they are going to remove or repair it. If they remove it your recovery time will be much faster, but you will have less cartlidge in your knee and that can limit you activities and range of motion. If they repair it, and it takes, the cartlidge will heal and you should not lose any shock absorption or range of motion, but the recovery time will be longer.

They repaired my meniscus when they reconstructed my ACL on November 5. I'm still in a straight leg brace because I can't put any weight on the leg while it's bent for fear of re-tearing the repaired meniscus.

Good luck man. The surgery for a meniscus isn't bad. A couple of 1/4 inch holes around your knee. Two stitches.

norther practitioner
12-02-2004, 01:18 PM
Good luck, I've not gotten surgery for my knee problems (I'm actually going to the doctor soon for one from June).

Royal Dragon
12-02-2004, 03:57 PM
Theresa was out for months before she got full pain free use of her knee again.

Of course she cheated her therapy..................

Stranger
12-02-2004, 04:05 PM
Good luck with a full recovery.

How did you do it?

Did it hurt bad, ache dully, or just feel odd? (I have no idea what this injury is like)

rogue
12-02-2004, 06:23 PM
I thought it was Tom Meniscus also. :o

Sevenstar wrote:
Mine has been strained, but not torn...
7*'s vanishing street cred takes another hit.:D

jun_erh