PDA

View Full Version : Kung Fu in Okinawa, Japan?

GQ_LS
12-08-2004, 05:38 AM
Hello, I'm new to this forum and I would like to know if anybody out there has any information on wether there are any active Kung Fu schools in Okinawa, Japan. I started studying Hung Fut in Maryland, but since being stationed here with the Marine Corps, I haven't had any luck finding Kung Fu. Any help with this matter will be greatly appreciated.

Mr Punch
12-08-2004, 05:40 AM
I don't know I'm afraid, but I would love to practise some of the genuine Okinawan karate down there.

Some of it has a kungfu flavour, so if you can't find fu don't limit your options.

GQ_LS
12-08-2004, 06:17 AM
Thanks Mat, I just did a search on Yahoo and found a class on 'Seiei Kan Shaolin Kung Fu System'. http://www.angelfire.com/ma4/seieikanshaolinkfutc/
The classes are offered at an Air Force base not far from where I'm stationed. And you're right, Karate does have a very strong Fu background, but with the system above they go the other way around, they wear karate gi's. I was curious as to why they did till I read the intro. This is part of the explination;
"Since there was so much animosity towards China, Grand Master Ming changed the school name to Shaolin-Do. This gave the new school a Japanese sounding name and he and his students wore The Japanese style GI instead of the traditional dress of the temples of China."
I'm gonna talk to the Sifu and find out if he has any more classes after 4:30 P.M.

Mr Punch
12-08-2004, 07:55 AM
Well **** me it's Shaolin-do.

There goes the neighbourhood. I can't believe that's being taught in Okinawa.

That's the end of that thread (well in another 8-9 pages of slagging!).

I don't have much to say about Shaolin-do (just search this forum), but that it isn't kungfu and it isn't karate. Maybe in Okinawa they have to be better, or maybe because they can get people from the base, they can afford to be worse... dunno.