PDA

View Full Version : teacher/student relationship

bung bo
12-16-2004, 10:56 AM
There is a thread about this on the main forum, but I consider this one more mature and would like to hear what people of the mantis community have to say about this. I know non-mantis people browse this forum and you are welcome to respond. Just keep it serious and on-topic. This is something I think about a lot. What do some of you consider good, bad, unacceptable?

Chief Fox
12-16-2004, 12:08 PM
I also think about this stuff a lot. My sifu works full time at another job and runs his kung fu school part time. I respect his dedication to his art.

We both keep our relationship as Student/Teacher. We exchange videos sometimes and I try to set a good example in class for the other students.

His school is in need of help in the area of marketing. I'm a graphic designer/web designer so I have a certain amount of experience in this area. I try to help where I can but I think he is reluctant to ask because he would not be able to pay me. I try to tell him that I don't require payment.

I have helped him on a few projects but that is it. He also knows that I have a full time job and a family so this is also a reason for him not to ask.

unixfudotnet
12-16-2004, 01:31 PM
We have a common respect and willingness to help each other. Someone I can talk to openly and I believe it is the other way around, though like friends, I am not as close as students who have just been around longer.

Seems it is like a family, we have each other's phone numbers and get along great. If he can not do class sometime, I understand, life does happen. I feel happy that he is willing to teach me. He also understands if I am not able to make it in, yet jokes around about it when I come in next, hehe.

I love going to class, even if the work is hard sometimes :)