PDA

View Full Version : Chief Fox's training journal

Pages : [1] 2

Chief Fox
12-20-2004, 12:40 PM
I need to have some kind of journal going on to keep myself focused and motivated. I'm also depending on all of you to help with the motivation part.

Here's some brief info on who I am:
Male. 36 years old. 5"11" 177lbs <-- holiday weight, normal weight is about 172lbs. Married, full time job with 2 kids. 7 year old daughter, 3 year old son.

I've been in decent shape my whole life. I like to run, swim, go cycling, lift and of course practice kung fu.

I've been practicing kung fu for only 2 years and after every class I ask myself why didn't I start 10 years ago. But hey, what can you do.

The styles that I practice are 7 star praying mantis, long fist, hung gar and tai chi. (just started tai chi about 2 months ago)

I really enjoy everything about my kung fu class, I try to go 3 times a week but most weeks it's only twice and lately it's been only once a week.

I'm not really belt or sash oriented. I look at kung fu as a life long pursuit and don't really care about the color of my sash. I just want to be the best martial artist that I can be. But if you really want to know, I'm a blue sash. In my school this puts me about half way to black.

So here are my goals:
1. go to kung fu class at least twice a week. Probably Thursday nights and Saturday mornings. Try to fit in a tuesday night class twice a month.
2. I used to race triathlons and I want to start doing this again this comming summer with the ultimate goal of completing an IRONMAN triathlon when I'm 40 years old.
3. Maintain a consistant workout schedule.
4. I have a shoulder injury that I've been trying to recover from so I want to continue to recuperate my shoulder.
5. Keep my workout schedule balanced to reduce or avoid injury.

I intend to have a basic fitness plan through February and then narrow it down starting March to be more triathlon focused.

Here's the basic plan:
Monday: Swim 750 to 1000 yards