PDA

View Full Version : For those who cross train

Phil Redmond
12-22-2004, 03:06 PM
I took these from the movie called "The Throwdown".
Since I'm new to BJJ I'd like to know what to people here who crosstrain think of these moves/techniques. I know that the fight scenes are choreographed but are any of these techniques really applicable? I want to be as familar with the grappling arts as possible so don't laugh too hard at my query. It would be benificial for all of us to know what to look out for. Thanks in advance,
PR

http://www.free-element.com/wingchun/throwdown1.MPG

http://www.free-element.com/wingchun/throwdown2.MPG

old jong
12-22-2004, 03:30 PM
Watch it Phil!... I trained in judo till recently and it is hard on guys our age!...I believe BJJ is similar in intensity and We don't heal as fast as we used too anymore.Be careful with your joints if you want to be able to practice your Wing Chun as usual.
I had to do it with a dislocated shoulder and a bad elbow for a very long healing time.It's a pain in the ass.

Phil Redmond
12-22-2004, 03:41 PM
OJ, Thanks for the tip. I am starting a "little" late in BJJ.
And I know about aching joints. Boy, do I know.
Phil

old jong
12-22-2004, 03:48 PM
IMO the best thing to be learned first in that kind of endeavor is:Never wait to long before tapping out!...:) Chokes sucks and armbars are no good for us!...:D

old jong
12-22-2004, 03:57 PM
As you will learn to move your hips on the ground,you will surely find yourself taking the back of some guys. Be carefull of your nose because many tend to over react and headbutt with the back of their head.It really suck!...;)

Nick Forrer
12-22-2004, 04:58 PM
Phil:

My POV

The first two throws/sweeps - fine no problem

The escape from the scarf hold/head and arm position where he brings the leg back and hooks the head - a bit iffy. Works if the guys head is up but hard if he knows how to hold the position. Better escapes IMO.