PDA

View Full Version : Modified Wing Chun

vierda
10-18-2001, 07:35 PM
Sorry if this has been talked about before, I couldn't seem to find anything in previous posts.

I am new to Wing Chun, but I was talking to
"Grandmaster" Felix Leong (Adelaide, Australia) a while ago. He mentioned that Yip Man modified his teachings because he had students that were bad to him (by bad, I assume challenged him and treated Yip Man badly).

Does anyone know if Yip Man did modify his teachings for most students? I've read a few articles that agree (sorry, can't point them out).

If it was modified, how so?
Does this relate to Chan Wa Shun's teachings?

I know that he didn't teach every student all aspects of Wing Chun, but what I'm trying to ask is if there are fundamental/noticable differences between "modified" and "un-modified" Wing Chun.

Sihing73
10-21-2001, 02:49 AM
Hello,

I belive that the "modifications" owuld be due morre to body type and the students ability than anything else. For example, if I have a student who was unable to perform a specific technique due to a physical limitation then I would "modify" the approach for them. I think that some of his students may have also developed specific preferences and emphasized them.

If you look at the late WSL he would have tended to use different techniques than say, Yip Chun. Each would tend to compliment his strengths.

Another thing that could have contributed to differences in students would be the time frame that they studied. As Yip man matured I am sure his understanding of the art as well as changes in physical ability would lend to slight changes in his approach to teahcing and the students at the various times would be the beneficiaries of these changes.

Peace,

Dave

azwingchun
10-21-2001, 03:33 AM