PDA

View Full Version : Defense against Muay Thai low Roundkick

straight blast
10-03-2001, 10:56 AM
Hi! I'm new to Wing Chun & would like any ideas on how to defend against a Thai roundhouse to the thigh or shin WITHOUT using a leg check. Anything that you have used and has worked. I'm new to Wing Chun so please don't use chinese terms 'cos I won't have a clue what you're talking about!
Thanks!! :cool:

"Through strength, learn gentleness. Through gentleness, strength will prevail"

Ish
10-03-2001, 02:10 PM
I find when sparing i can usually kick there leg around the shin or knee using a simple front/stamp kick. I tend not to do it with too much power and rely more on the speed of the kick, I find it almost always stops them kicking me and usually hurts them.

Spark
10-03-2001, 06:49 PM
try drawing the leg they are kicking back.

Jeff Brown
10-03-2001, 07:57 PM
wait for him to weight himself on the anchoring leg then stomp kick it at the knee. as he falls rush in and demo the chump.

"Once I have harnessed the power of the Sun, I will be UNSTOPPABLE!" -- Mini-Me

wongfeilung809
10-03-2001, 09:44 PM
"demo the chump" lol, thats badass, i think i would raise the lead leg a and kick rush forward....once you get over the "fear" of getting hit, the rest you leave it up to what you feel...
simpleangles

straight blast
10-04-2001, 02:02 AM
Thanks. Sounds pretty sweet to me. Will practice my stamp kick. :cool:

"Through strength, learn gentleness. Through gentleness, strength will prevail"

CanadianBadAss
10-04-2001, 03:03 AM
Lift your lead leg up a bit and sort of catch the kick with your foot and ankle then take a big step back with your lead leg still hocked on to there kick. It's kind of hard to explain, but it u do it right you can usually send the other dude flying across the room.

|) /- | | |
| / |_| |__

whippinghand
10-04-2001, 04:07 AM
Against a serious Muay Thai boxer, you just shatter your leg.

CanadianBadAss
10-04-2001, 04:59 AM