PDA

View Full Version : Simple Question

XiaoJieFu
01-25-2005, 03:46 PM
I'm very new to martial arts, so plz be easy on me... I've been reading the forum for about a year, and I love it :D

I'm just starting Kung Fu rather hard-core and doing Tae Kwon Do on the side to keep flexible and in shape. TKD isn't really my kind of thing but I'm giving it a try and hey it's not BAD for me. ;)

One thing I've noticed in TKD is how often my classmates use really high kicks, and kicks where they turn their back to the enemy during sparring. I know in the rules we use (WTF rules) don't allow hitting in the back or below the belt, but in a real fight... Aren't high kicks and spinning kicks just a bad idea?

They expose your back/genitals, take a lot of time.... I know IF they connect they're rather powerful, but low kicks to the joints seem to be a much better idea... More like in Wing Chun.

What's the point of these high kicks? They seem to be a very bad idea in the practical sense.

Your thoughts?:confused:

Water Dragon
01-25-2005, 03:47 PM
They're used to kick Warriors off their horses in battle.

XiaoJieFu
01-25-2005, 03:49 PM
I mean in modern single unarmed combat, both people standing onthe ground... Like sparring with someone who trains Kung Fu or Karate for example.

Water Dragon
01-25-2005, 03:52 PM
Oh! Ok. In that case they're used to avoid BJJ guys takedowns.

Starchaser107
01-25-2005, 03:54 PM
He's right those high kicks were used to kick warriors off horses in battle.
What style of kung fu are you training? careful not to get your body mechanics messed up. TKD is a different animal to Kung Fu

as for practical uses of that kick nowadays...not much unless you use it against someone that is airbourne...or really tall...

Brad
01-25-2005, 03:55 PM
If you can get a proper opening, a fast & strong kick to the head can end a fight real fast.

Water Dragon
01-25-2005, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by Brad