PDA

View Full Version : So, I might start a club...

HearWa
01-29-2005, 03:00 PM
I've been starting to consider organizing a group to practice freestyle combat martial arts. I have the keys to an old school house that is never used that I use as my primary training area (my second place is the basement, the third, the garage), so I have the resources for this. I am also saving up money to buy some equipment like striking pads and possibly a mat, if I could find one. I have punching bags, boxing gloves, skipping ropes and a medicine ball all ready.

My experience is in ketsugo karate (two years before I quit for kung fu), kung fu (six years and counting) and a year of kickboxing before the school closed down. I also am talking to a boxer who allegedly fought professionally in his past who may be willing to train me. I've had no experience in grappling because there's no way for me to learn it around here. I consider myself lucky to have this experience given martial arts schools are really sparse around here (kung fu, tae kwon do and an iffy ninjitsu school). I've trained on my own for far too long, so this is where this idea came from.

As far as skills go, I consider myself of average skill. I'm nothing special, but I've worked hard to attain the skill I have. I'd like to think I'm a pretty decent fighter who hasn't had the opportunity (ie. clubs such as this) to really hone his skill.

The question is, should I organize a club with this experience? I'm making it invite-only to keep the idiots out. I really would like to start training medium-to-full contact with more open rules (ie. throws and such and the ability to see if my kung fu is really working for me) and this is the only way I could do so. The problem is the people I'd be inviting in would be friends who have just started Kung Fu, but I'm planning to slowly work them into it. Besides, I've learned to never underestimate a beginner. The unpredictability they pose is always an interesting thing.