PDA

View Full Version : Student Manhandled?

SPJ
01-31-2005, 09:37 AM
A Kentucky teacher aide lifted a 13 year old boy and pinned him down on the table. The incident was caught on tape.

He is suspended with no pay pending court decision tommorrow.

So the question is when the teacher or school administrators may use physical force to restrain?

The student is threatening fellow classmates and the teacher verbally or physically?

What methods of restrain are allowed?

Or any physical contact and who ever starts first is considered an assault and illegal?

ABC News (http://abcnews.go.com/US/)

:confused:

Judge Pen
01-31-2005, 09:54 AM
The only thing that I can say is that the teacher must act "reasonable under the circumstances." Who knows what that really means?

Akhilleus
01-31-2005, 10:01 AM
I studied some law at the university...I remember hearing that if you say something like "I'm gonna get you!" or "If you do this I will hit you!" doesn't count as verbal assault or whatever...but you can't say things like "I am going to beat you up!" As you can tell, I have no business posting this as I don't really know what I am talking about, but I remember my teacher saying something about that...

as for what teachers can do, I'm not really sure...both my 'rents are teachers so I will ask one of 'em

Golden Tiger
01-31-2005, 10:04 AM
"Murray, KY (AP) -- A judge is expected to decide on Tuesday how to proceed in the case of a teacher's aide allegedly caught on tape assaulting a 13-year-old boy at a school for students with behavorial problems.

Calloway County District Judge Jeann Carroll could send the case against Charles D. Parrott on to a grand jury for possible indictment on a felony assault charge or deal with the charge as a misdemeanor in her own courtroom.

The video from a surveillance camera shows Parrott holding Dimitri Ross off the ground and against an office wall.