PDA

View Full Version : Movement analysis in chum kiu

SAAMAG
02-07-2005, 07:55 PM
Hey guys,

I was practicing CK the other night, and the way I originally learned it...in the beginning(ish) of the form, after the 3 vertical palms, when you turn the 180 into lan sao/sao kuen combination -the wu sau hand raises in a vertical fist "resting" on the forearm just prior to shifting into the bong wu sau facing the front again.

Some of you know that recently I started studying the LT/EBMAS lineage and now I see the form done wherein after the turn/lan sau/sao kuen movement the wu sau hand then meets the man sau hand forming an "x" like you would see in the beginning of the form (high gate), and then shifts into bong/wu sao to the front....

So I was curious...and then looked at the Moy yat system, after the 180 turn, into the lan sau/sao kuen...the wu sau hand comes up into the middle as if you were going to rest the dorsal side of the hand on the forearm (but not touching), and then goes into the bong/wu to the front.

**So noting the slight differences, can anyone tell me what this really signifies, if anything? I know that forms are subjective and veeery open to interpretation, so Im interested to see what you all have to say...I myself, at first thought of it as simply teaching me to have the rear hand ready to punch while performing lan sau, but then seeing the variations now...I'm starting to wonder about the real significance of it...seeing as how that one piece differs in almost every lineage I've seen. I don't think I've seen it done the same way twice.

Any thoughts fellas?

Ultimatewingchun
02-07-2005, 08:31 PM
Did the Moy Yat version many times...don't see much difference between the two sections of the form as you describe them.

If you think those differences are significant...the William Cheung TWC version of CK is VERY different - from top to bottom.

And there is no lan sao at all in his version.

Go figure.