PDA

View Full Version : Where to look when doin chi sau?

Jeff Liboiron
10-22-2001, 12:50 AM
What part of the body do you guys look at when doing chi sau? or do you look at it at all?

dlew308
10-22-2001, 12:53 AM
I think one just learns to feel off the other person. You'll see people do it blindfolded.

CanadianBadAss
10-22-2001, 01:30 AM
I usually try to look past the person and don’t really focus on anything. But if I'm training with a hottie its a whole other story... ;)

|) /- | | |
| / |_| |__

tnwingtsun
10-22-2001, 02:16 AM
I try to look to the side,or not look at all.
Or not think at all,I'm training reflexes,not sight.

I think there is a link to what Old Jong said
about meditation/SLT and chi-sao.

http://forum.kungfuonline.com/1/OpenTopic?a=tpc&s=126197291&f=769195302&m=5801902313

But then again,I'm no expert. ;)

dedalus
10-22-2001, 04:22 AM
I look over my opponent's shoulder into the distance (as do the rest of the guys I train with) - its even more important to do so with someone who's good!

There might be a physiological reason to recommend this strategy. The receptors in your central, high-resolution visual field (foveal vision) aren't as sensitive to movement as the receptors for your peripheral visual field. That's why you get those vision disorders where people can see traffic but don't know whether it is moving towards them or not. The foveal field is only about 2 degrees, and the closer you stay to its edge, the better your peripheral vision. Thus, by casting your eyes off by 5-15 degrees and ignoring the central field, you maximise your sensitivity to movement. Moreover, you don't lose too much detail - some partially blind kids can even read 12pt print using this strategy! Most of us use it too (in a way) when we're looking at the stars and have to cast our gaze slightly aside to see them properly. In that case its because the periphery has more rods, but you get the idea that it can be effective.