PDA

View Full Version : Teaching my wife Tai Chi

Chief Fox
02-15-2005, 11:22 AM
I've been studying Yang style Tai Chi Chuan for about 6 months and while I know that I am not qualified to teach I do practice at home. My wife has shown some interest in learning Tai Chi but is not interested in attending class with me but is interested in practicing with me. So my thought is I can teach her the form as I know it and as my form is refined hers will be too.

Like I said, I know I'm not qualified to teach but is there any harm in showing her the form so she can practice with me?

Mojo
02-15-2005, 11:41 AM
I cannot imagine that this could harm anyone. She won't get good Tai-chi but nothing harmfull will occur to her.

dej2
02-15-2005, 11:54 AM
hmmm... well it may increase your understanding of the art if you have to teach it to someone else. Its too bad that you don't have atleast couple of years under your belt.

Chief Fox
02-15-2005, 01:48 PM
I was thinking that it would benefit me as well because it would force me to analyze my own tai chi more.

thanks for the input.

lltdow
02-15-2005, 01:48 PM
Not so much the tought of teaching someone....that's cool. But haven't tried already tried to teach your wife anything, they only get angry and upset. Invite her to class, but I wouldn't go near trying to teach her anything.

Chief Fox
02-15-2005, 02:15 PM
That's true. There is potential of someone getting hurt here. ME! :eek:

I think I'll just continue to practice and if she has questions she can ask and join in if she likes.

scholar
02-15-2005, 02:19 PM
Every relationship is different, so it is hard to say.