PDA

View Full Version : Grip Strength

Ralphie
02-24-2005, 02:06 PM
Alright, I just had my patelar tendon reattached, and am out of commission for about 6 months. I am going to train upper body quite a bit, including grip strengthening. So, my question is, what are the best methods for this available (I'm sure the inevitable reply of chicken choking will come up, but I've maxed out on this a long time ago). Also, what were some exercises that folks did here while they recovered from a knee injury? I have been doing olympic lifts for a few years, but I'm going to have to alter that at least for a few more months, so any input is well appreciated. Thanks in advance, and this has been my worst year for injuries ever. I'm much more sympathetic towards people with sports injuries these days, that's for sure. I'm now official timer boy for our vale tudo team.
www.bjjboulder.com

norther practitioner
02-24-2005, 02:18 PM
Captain of Crush will come up fo' sho...

Good luck with the recovery.

If you can afford it, go to PT.. it helped a lot during my rehab periods after knee injuries.. (knocks on wood) I haven't needed surgery yet though.

Ford Prefect
02-24-2005, 02:36 PM
Let your PT tell you what exercises to do for that knee. You don't want to hurt yourself any more.

As for grip strength:

Captains of Crush Grippers (as NP said)
Leverage Bars/Thor's Hammer/Clubbells
Wrist Roller
Weight Plate Curls
Plate Pinching

Some really great grip tools at www.ironmind.com

Once you see them, they aren't hard to build on your own.

abobo
02-24-2005, 02:39 PM
Some stuff that I do: rope climbing, towel chinups, fingertip pushups, planche progressions (not strictly a grip exercise, but uses wrist/finger strength)

Ralphie
02-24-2005, 02:50 PM