PDA

View Full Version : Where to start?

SPJ
03-31-2005, 08:13 AM
Many would ask the question.

I have some background in TKD or karate. I like to pick up some Kung Fu to compliment or diversify. There are so many styles. Adding crane, tiger, wing chun, jkd to my karate? or ?

Where to start?

Or my kids are interested in Kung Fu, where to start?

Your input?

:D

gwa sow
03-31-2005, 08:25 AM
i think it would be better to look at the available schools inyour area that are good. of these then you can chose. no point in adding something crappy.

red5angel
03-31-2005, 08:32 AM
yep, check out all the available schools, and by check out I mean take a few classes in each, do some research into backgrounds and all that then choose what you like.

ewallace
03-31-2005, 08:48 AM
And avoid styles that use cartwheels.

I know that may offend certain posters on this forum, and no disrespect mean to Grandmaster Mary Lou.

Happeh
03-31-2005, 08:58 AM
What are you expecting out of the kung fu? What kind of body type do you have?

ewallace
03-31-2005, 09:02 AM
Happeh, It's a theoretical question which comes up quite often from friends, family, co-workers...etc.

SPJ trains in taiji.

Chief Fox
03-31-2005, 09:26 AM
I can tell you how I started.

1st. I talked to a co-worker who is a black belt in TKD. He got his black belt in two years.

2nd. I looked in the yellow pages for all the different schools in town. I tried to get a feel for the schools from the people I talked to on the phone. One school didn't want to talk to me on the phone, they wanted me to come in to talk. I suspected high pressure sales tatics so I declined. One instructor was telling me how in two years he'll be a "master". That school was scratched off the list.

3rd. I went to the schools that passed the phone interview.

4th. I picked my current school. I've been there for over 2 years and am confident that I made the right decission.