PDA

View Full Version : What is San Shou??

ChinoXL
04-03-2005, 11:20 PM
What's the difference between San Shou and Muay Thai? I heard from someone who wouldn't stop debating that it's better.. Isn't Muay Thai the ultimate striker? Can somebody tell me what it is and the basics of it and what is San Da?? THanks alot

Hakaisha
04-04-2005, 01:36 AM
I have no experience in either art, but I can't resist from interjecting here. There is no "ultimate" anything in martial arts and neither is any one form better than another. It all depends on how you want to fight and your skill in utilizing the form. Sorry if this little rant is annoying. :o

Liokault
04-04-2005, 04:09 AM
San Shou is two things.

First its a full contact format, traditionaly contested on a raised ring.

Secondly its a full contact martial art. This developed in the same way as karate point tornements turned into "free style" katate as a martial art in its own right.

You will probably hear lots of differant storys to the above, stuff about it being a chinese military style etc.

As for how its differant to mauy thai.....Well I was just in a book shop looking at a thai boxing book. It had throws, leg grabs, sweeps every thing that san shou has (again you will hear lots of differant things here, mostly about the rules involving throws, but just because theres a rule against it dont mean its not there).

In the end I think that san shou has a differant flavour, less happy to take and trade shout, much faster to slip in and throw.

norther practitioner
04-04-2005, 10:52 AM
It's a set of rules...

Merryprankster
04-04-2005, 10:59 AM
San Shou is a sport and style developed in China by two midget kickboxers and an ex-pro football player. Although originally frowned upon as being unrefined, Disney eventually took an interest and brought San Shou to the masses.

The rest, as they say, is history.

Chang Style Novice
04-04-2005, 11:01 AM