PDA

View Full Version : fighting spirit/ attitude

bodhitree
04-05-2005, 03:33 PM
I have been a martial artist for some years now. I am pretty passive by nature, which in some ways is good however in other ways has been a flaw (letting people get away with things and take advantage of me ect.) I recently have had a majior attitude change in training putting more spirit and focus into my workout and when these 2 guys gave my girlfriend a hardtime i confronted them, they both screamed they were going to stomp me (as they were backing up ;) ) and i stayed calm and felt completely confident in my abilities to hurt these two. (they walked away, no fight :( ) Does anyone else have experiances with these sorts of attitude changes? How do you keep these positive changes in attitude and training? I don't want it just to be a phase. thank you

HearWa
04-05-2005, 06:56 PM
It's interesting you posted this. I'm sitting here on my second day of being kicked out of high school for fighting. This would be my first fight, ever. I'm alot like you in the sense that I'm very passive. I couldn't count the number of times I've let people walk all over me. So passive, in fact, people believed I have no fight in me and that I was a push over.

I told myself that I'm not letting that happen anymore. Whenever somebody would say something rude about me I'd stand my ground and dish it back. What surprised me was how quickly most people backed down. It seems the majority of people don't want to fight, they want to watch their ego and reputation swell. Keep in mind I'm only 5"9, 160lbs so I don't look too threatening. Even worse so when you consider the fact that computers are one of my hobbies and I openly flaunt it.