PDA

View Full Version : 8-step MMA

fa_jing
04-14-2005, 10:39 AM
So many masters have changed the footwork of their style when exposed to the footwork of Ba Gua. We have 8-step Tai Chi, 8-step Mantis, even 8-step Wing Chun. Do you all see any barriers to incorporating Ba Gua footwork into a standard MMA style based on boxing, wrestling and Muy Thai? :eek: :D

Waidan
04-14-2005, 11:22 AM
To tell you the truth, that's an adaptation I've been expecting for a while now. Once I started training bagua and saw how practical and effective the footwork is, it changed my views on stepping, stances, and kicks forever.

The question in my mind isn't whether the footwork will make it into mainstream MMA, but rather how long it'll take the fighters to find it and see it for what it is :)

Merryprankster
04-14-2005, 11:35 AM
The question in my mind isn't whether the footwork will make it into mainstream MMA, but rather how long it'll take the fighters to find it and see it for what it is

It will take the fighters precisely as long as it takes for a Ba Gua guy to step in the ring and kick some ass.

Until then, don't expect them to "recognize" it.

fa_jing
04-14-2005, 11:57 AM
Well why does it have to be like that, Merry? Why can't the MMA guys be more proactive about researching fighting styles (assuming they are not, if they are we don't seem to hear about it)? After all, they are the ones who should be able to make it work, if it is possible at all. And what matters is if they can make it work, not some "master" who has put conforming to a style above immediate fighting effectiveness for many years.