PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in Hung Gar school?

Bon Sau
04-18-2005, 05:54 PM
I just moved from California to Arizona a few months ago. I've been wanting to study kung fu for a very long time but the town I'm from only had Aikido and Karate. So I studied Karate for a year and a half but never really liked it. Anyways, I found a Hung Ga school but it's about 2 hours away from my new city. That's not exactly close but I'm willing to drive there a couple times a week to train. Since I've never studied Kung Fu, can someone tell me what things I should look for or ask when I make a visit to the school?

Is it considered rude for a prospective student to ask about the training i.e. do they teach practical application of the techniques/forms taught? And does it make a difference if the Sifu was taught by a well known instructor or is that basically just a selling point and should not enter into consideration?

Here's the school I'm interested in training at, in case some of you with more knowledge can tell me if it's worth checking into or not.

http://www.afn.org/~afn59160/

David Jamieson
04-18-2005, 06:34 PM
a lot of your questions can be answered through this site:

http://hungkuen.net/home.htm

take a look around on the net to see what Hung Gar looks like in all it's shapes and flavours. There isn't a shortage of info on this style.

the link you gave appears to be a legit Hung Gar school at a glance.

BenjaminAZ
04-18-2005, 08:54 PM
Bon Sau,

Where in AZ are you now located? I clicked on your link, and it seems that school is run by a student of Augustine Fong. I don't know about their Hung Gar, but from what I understand (which is little, and mostly through the grapevine) Sifu Fong is primarily a Wing Chun kind of guy. Ah, on further reading it seems he got his Hung from some other teachers anyway.

He (Fong) is well known though, if that matters to you. I don't know much about his other teachers.