PDA

View Full Version : Which Styles - Body Control and Fight

Exydian
05-14-2005, 06:23 PM
Hello,

I just moved to NYC from Australia where I studied various martial arts. I have made my decision and want to learn proper Kung Fu. What I would love is to train two different styles, one focusing on body control and great forms/weapons (internal/external?) and the other concentrating on usability and effectiveness in a real combat situation (linear/circular? emperor's fist? jet kine do?). What is your opinion?

Which styles and schools in the New York area can you recommend? What about the Leung Ting System Wing Tsun school in Manhattan? Is the style worth recommending? What about the Bow Law school? My priority is not a fancy school with shiny uniforms but to study hard and learn the real deal! What's the secret tip for NYC?

It would be great if you guys could give a newbie some expert advice as to what the best choice of style is, for each of the areas mentioned.

Appreciate your help!!
Marco

BlueTravesty
05-14-2005, 06:50 PM
as far as I know, the Bow Law school has Tak Wah Eng as its master, and from what I've heard, he's got some cred. Don't know if that helps :)

WanderingMonk
05-14-2005, 10:54 PM
giving a plug for lkfmdc (Sifu Ross), lama, clf, hung gar, xing yi, etc. teaches cma concept using the san shou (free sparring format).

http://www.sandatrainingsystems.com/

if his school is close, you should definitely investigate. the first lesson is "FREE".

http://www.angelfire.com/sd2/kingofsanda/nysgindex.html

IronFist
05-15-2005, 12:13 AM
Wait, you moved to USA from Australia? Dude, you're going to get so many chicks with that accent...

SevenStar
05-17-2005, 10:16 AM
yeah, American chicks dig an accent.

Fu-Pow
05-17-2005, 11:05 AM
In a strange twist of events I also might be moving to NYC. See ya soon Ross! ;)

Din Gao
05-17-2005, 11:15 AM