PDA

View Full Version : Wing chun vs. Muay thai: which art is better for the street?

humblewarrior
08-22-2000, 09:49 PM
same as topic.

benny
08-23-2000, 09:29 AM
its hard to know which is better as they both have their good points. muai thai is one of the only styles i have spared with that can actually kick and punch at the same time. but the only hard kick to block is the straight push kick as you have to take a bigger angle were as every other kick you can just jam them. vt and mt actually have nearly the exact same elbows.
see yA

ATENG
08-23-2000, 11:20 AM
i'm no expert in MT but it seems that it is a very hard style that stresses power and conditioning. fighting effectiveness aside, i would want something that i can do til i'm old. thats my take.

abe

------------------
Its all fun and games til someone loses an eye. Then its just fun.

El_CLap
08-23-2000, 07:06 PM
Hmm...this is pretty much like giving one guy a glock and one guy a colt and asking who's the better shot. Both will work well, if trained correctly. It just depends on the person, and the degree of training.

Tai Mai Shu
08-26-2000, 06:45 AM
Muay thai...no contest at all. Wing Chun has some stuff that is useful but its generally geared towards sticking hands and technique wise, most of it won't translate well to a real brawl. And muay thai practitioners are very well conditioned and tough. Wing Chun guys usually are not.

kobu
08-26-2000, 07:21 AM
Tai mai shu,
you have got to be kidding. Ving Tsun does`nt translate well to real fighting?
Techniques that are just usful in sticky hands? LOL. Chi sao is a training exercise, that helps to develop those techniques for real fighting.

Buhma
08-26-2000, 12:01 PM
Tai Mai Shu....wow, talk about generalizations. As a matter of fact, I have personally seen my sifu go toe to toe (more exactly shin to shin) with a thai boxer. Do you think all those years of hitting the hardwood of a muk jong would still keep you soft?