PDA

View Full Version : Dummies

Iron_Monkey
08-27-2000, 04:00 PM
Okay this has two parts....

1) I have seen a few dummies, and they don't seem like they would hard to make. I have a large shop with everything I would need to make one if I had some decent plans. Is this reccommended? Why or why not? $700 seems a bit steep for a log with sticks in it.

2)I am interested in learning some sets for the dummy. I study longfist, but I think it would help with speed and such, besides looking really super cool. Can I learn them from a book or do I need to go to a school? If I went to a school, would I have to start taking WC in order to learn the sets? I am worried that actually starting the whole style would mess with my longfist a little, as I am a beginner. Thanks......

WSLfan
08-27-2000, 06:30 PM
Have a look at the on at Http://www.wongshunleung.com/download.html
Haven't checked the measurements aganist the one a our school.
Can't help you with the sets don't know them and will not get to start to learn it of 2 or 3 years.

Tekarius
08-28-2000, 09:35 AM
I would suggest you buy a video which costs 50$ or so or rent one.

Sihing73
08-28-2000, 09:47 PM
Hello Iron_Monkey,

As to plans for building your own dummy I will place some links at the end of this post. Making your own dummy can be very rewarding and give you years of pleasure along with a sense of accomplishment. My woodworking skills are such that, were I to attempt to build my own dummy I would doubtless end my MA career /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I did once build one when I was 15 or so but the end product would win no prizes and was hardly in line with any specs'.

As to videos I would suggest the following: