PDA

View Full Version : Too many compliments?

Ryu
10-19-2001, 02:11 AM
My father and I were talking to some painters today who had done some Tae Kwon Do, and who were interested in martial arts. (Though maybe not the most realistic perspective...)
Anyway, they already knew I was interested in MA, and I mentioned (after they asked) that I dabbled in some BJJ, judo, and some JKD.

When my father was talking to them, he began talking about my skills (very flatteringly, bless his old heart) But he began to give the impression that I was a master of martial arts. :(
He said I had black belts in 3 arts, and studied the Gracie system and got belts in that.

!! Well JKD doesn't have "belts" and if you say an instructorship is equivalent to a black belt, then okay I guess that's true, but I don't consider my high belts in childhook karate anything special, and I am not a black belt in judo yet. I'm one under, at brown belt.
Now I studied BJJ with lots of people. I began with friends who studied it, then worked with Rickson and some others, then fought challenge matches to test myself over and over, then was with Carlos Machado's school for a year, but even though I guess you can consider this good study time, I did not get any belts higher than the white, though I was rolling with blues when I had to quit.
Even though he meant well and all, I had to constantly tone down the other guys's excitement and say "no no, well yeah, I have an instructorship, but... no no, I didn't get a black belt in BJJ. (holy crap! :eek: )
LOL, I always try to keep a low profile, and I try not to talk like I'm the coolest fighter in the world, because I don't think I am. There are plenty of good BJJ men out there who can take me, and probably fast.
Though I do know I'm no beginner.... :(