PDA

View Full Version : Weighted pushups / pullups question(s)...

Samurai Jack
06-17-2005, 06:59 PM
My chest and pullup conditioning took a back seat when I first started the 20 - rep deadlift program about six months ago. I'm sad to say that my pullups went from a respectable 15 reps all the way down to a very sad 4 rep max!

Also since I quite my gym over a year and a half ago my direct pectoral muscle work has gone out the window. Since I don't have a bench, nor room for one, I thought I'd start doing weighted pushups which I've played with in the past.

So my questions are, has anyone seen any information about the benifits of weighted pushups and pullups, and examples of routines for these? Anyone actually do these regularly? Will a back-pack full of plates be sufficent for the weighted pullups? And finally, what sort of program should a complete novice to these exercises undertake?

Ford Prefect
06-20-2005, 06:20 AM
The backpack may tug on your shoulders during pull-ups and cut off circulation to your arms. Not a good thing for pull-ups... ;) The best thing to do is hold a weighted dumbell between or feet or splurge the $20-30 and get a dip/pull-up belt which is made for it.

I've never been big on weighted push-ups because you have to stack the weight directly over your shoulder blades in order not to screw up your back. I do have an X-vest that is pretty good for those though, however X-vests are very expensive. I'd just do plyometric push-ups... do them until you can do 15 non-stop with a clap in between (when you explode of the ground). Once you can do 15 with one clap, up it to 2 claps... then 3... Once you hit 3, you may want to do some gymnastics static holds which can hit your pecs really well.

Mikkyou
06-20-2005, 08:43 AM
I see no point in doing weighted pushups but different training ideas for everyone.