PDA

View Full Version : essay for a grading??

packard
06-28-2005, 08:16 AM
I have been teaching for many years now and wanted to look at changing the syllabus for some of the gradings.

I wondered about having a written aspect for the senior black belt grade such as an essay on how they believe their martial arts training has helped them go forward or something similar.

Does any one have any experience of this in their style?

It is still very open for me at the moment and take on board that not everyone can express themselves well in written format or can write at all.

I do not wish to take away any of the martial element but may be add to the philosophy of kung fu.

Any views appreciated.

Regards,

P

PangQuan
06-28-2005, 09:20 AM
This is a good idea.

At the school I attend, on my first test I was given a 500 word essay to do as well as several questions to answer.

The essay was on kung fu in general, I think it helps the teacher to further understand what your goals and ideas are regarding your martial arts. It also seperates those who actually study on thier spare time from those who are there for exersize.

If you really enjoy kung fu, chances are you know a good amount of history, this will show on a written exam. However if you just show up to show up and only practice in class ande never research on your own then it will be apparently obvious with your answers to questions like "Who was Ta Mo?"

I say go for it, its just a little written exam, what are a few minutes of writing compared to years of sweat, blood, pain, and dedication? It can be a valuable tool to ones person in evaluating within themselves what they truly have recieved from their studies.

Its amazing how many people never actually stop, listen, smell the roses, and contemplate all that they have done.

Oso
06-28-2005, 09:32 AM
my old teacher had a written requirement at each sash level.