PDA

View Full Version : Chigung Sets in Mantis

Raiyden
07-05-2005, 08:26 AM
Greetings All,

I am a student of 7 Star and Taiji Mantis. I wanted to hopefully start a discussion on Chigung sets in Mantis. My questions are -

1) How many sets are there as a part of the core Mantis curriculum?

2) What are their names, and the goals of their practice, their history?

3) Is there any non-mantis Chigung that is taught as a part of a kwoon's curriculum, and what is it's goal?

Regards.

German Bai Lung
07-05-2005, 09:35 AM
Hi Rayden,

mainly there is the 18 Buddha Qi Gong tought in some Mantis Styles.
The name is (mostly) sap baat lohon gung.
Sifu Lee Kam Wing also teaches the 8 Brokat - Ba Dua Jin Qi gong. I think there are also very well known in the Mantis Families.

Benefits: QiGong can first benefit your physical attributes such as strength, flexibility and so on. Later QiGong should increase your Inner Energy, the flow of your Qi.

I hope Robert (Mantis108) and kevin chime in. They have a lot of knowledge about QiGong.

mantis108
07-05-2005, 10:47 AM
Hi Raiyden,

Welcome to the forum. I am curious of your background. Are you affiliated with Sifu Tony Chui in NY?

Anyway, Qigong or Neigong in Mantis is a fascinating subject. In some lineages especially TJPM in mainland, there are loads of Qigong/Neigong practices.

There are 3 major "forms" in this area of study in Mantis:

1) Ba Duan Jin (8 sections of brocades)
2) San Hui Jiu Zhuan Huan Yang Fa (3 returns 9 rotations rendering Yang method)
3) Shi Ba Luo Han Gong (18 Arhat Conditioning)

One thing of note is that the first 2 are mostly found in the greater Meihwa lines; while, the 18 Luohan is most common to the Sevenstar lines. That being said, the progenitor of the GML, Liang Xuexiang did have the 18 Luohan manuscripts in his procession. The main focus of the GML neigong is mostly on the BDJ and SHJZ today tough.