PDA

View Full Version : Chinese Martial Arts Business

Lama Pai Sifu
07-12-2005, 07:09 PM
I wanted to start a network group for Chinese Martial Arts School owners to discuss all aspects of running a professional school. Discussions are open to Curriculum, Sales, Marketing, Systems, etc. I have 15 years experience running Chinese Martial Arts Schools and I've certainly made a million mistakes. Fortunatly, my schools are now sucessful and profitable. But it wasn't always like this.

I'd like to communicate with other owners to share experiences.

Royal Dragon
07-13-2005, 06:11 AM
Like what?

ngokfei
07-14-2005, 04:45 PM
hey michael

just watched your video seminar on opening up multiple schools (napma).

Very informative. Keeps things in perspective.

Lama Pai Sifu
07-15-2005, 08:36 AM
Eric, How long ago was that? Wow, I think that was like 1996 or 1997. Does it have a date?

Are you running a school? You are in Cali, right?

PlumDragon
07-15-2005, 09:14 AM
Michael,

At what point do you decide you are ready/prepared to open a school? Did you make the determination, or did your sifu? Did you start with a few students in a park or garage ro something, or did you take the path that most other businesses took (ie, get a loan from a bank, rent a building, do all the advertising, etc)?

Thanks in advance

Lama Pai Sifu
07-15-2005, 09:31 AM
I opened my first school in 1991, with the support (not financial) of my Sifu. Until this point, we rented (mostly done by a training brother) space in NYC and taught class a few hours per week. At the time, there was very little information out there, regarding MA business. Things have changed dramatically since then.

To open a school, on a full time basis, you most likely need approx. $15K (shoestring budget). To do it the right way, somewhere between $25-$35K is more realistic. Not to mention having some $$$ in the bank to support and capitalize your business.