PDA

View Full Version : Tuition/contracts/fees - need advice

ElectricVersion
07-18-2005, 06:07 PM
I'm new to Kung-fu, only been studying for about a month, maybe even a little less. There was only one Kung-fu place i knew of in my area so i did no shopping around at first. Let me tell you what the deal is with rates and costs and contracts there. i feel it may be a bit too much...

when i first went in, tried it out for a class or two, then signed up... $100 enrollment fee, and a 6 month contract at $100 a month, and a free uniform. i wanted to commit at least 6 months to it, so i went for it. why not.

so after a few weeks, i am selected for the "advanced program". students that are selected for this show hard work, determination, focus, etc. i'm sure everyone gets selected at some point. students get an hour class instead of the 30 minute class basic students get. the last half hour is spent doing forms and more applied stuff, whereas the first half hour is exercise, practicing blocks, stances, punches and basic elements.

for this advanced program... you sign another contract... this time $400 enrollment fee, and the tuition jumps to $150 a month. contract for 36 months. the idea is to set your Black Sash goal for 3 yrs and reach it with this program. they don't "promise" you the black sash, but they basically tell you they believe you can do it. they have no doubt.. etc. you know the deal.

belt tests also cost money on top of all that.

they have special programs they do from time to time, like 5 animal forms and such, and that's even more money. just seems like it adds up and adds up. money pit.

i had a good vibe at first at the school, but since i've learned more about it and seen more of the business end of it, i don't feel so great about it anymore.

how does this sound to all of you. how does it compare to how your school does things? does it seem excessive? any advice would be greatly appreciated.

anton
07-18-2005, 06:15 PM