PDA

View Full Version : Best School in Boston?

dr invisible
07-21-2005, 10:29 AM
I am a potential kung fu student in Boston with no martial arts background. I am looking at schools to go to. Anyone have an idea of the better schools. Doing some internet searches I have found Boston Tai Chi on Boylston St., Chinese Wushu Research Inst (Bow Sim Mark's school), Wah Lum in Chinatown and the YMAA school in JP. Two questions, any recommendations?, and what do you look for when observing a class before signing up?
Thanks so much

Ford Prefect
07-21-2005, 12:49 PM
Depends what you want. Boston Tai Chi is modern Wushu. Bow Sim Mark no longer teaches any applications. Do you want to fight? Do you just want the art? Do you want a mixture of both?

dr invisible
07-21-2005, 12:57 PM
Thanks for getting back

Fighting competitively is less of an interest.
What do you mean more "modern wushu"?

I believe there is a place in Central Square as well.

SaMantis
07-21-2005, 03:03 PM
The first 4 schools you listed are excellent places to start looking, you'll get a good flavor of different systems & teaching styles, an idea of average tuition in the area, and a look at Chinese martial arts.

I've seen the sign for the school in Central Square, but I don't know anything about it ... add it to your list of schools to explore anyway.

With no background in martial arts, I think it's great that you're comparison shopping several schools. The basic things to look for are, does the price meet your budget, and are you interested and excited about what you see in the classes? And always remind yourself to look past the "great deals" on tuition (i.e. black belt clubs, multi-year contracts, etc.), and beyond the colored belts, patches, and cool uniforms. Do the students look happy and do they get along with each other? Do you have a good feeling about the place?

When you do choose a school, do not sign up for any contract longer than a year. Here are a few reasons why: