PDA

View Full Version : Chen Style: How many? How long?

rickyscaggs
07-26-2005, 09:31 AM
I posted a similar question in the Shaolin arts section.

I'm interested in knowing at what rate people from different schools and different arts learn forms. Maybe it depends on the person and teacher but generally, in Chen Style, how many forms do you learn and how long do you focus on just one until you learn the next?

houstonwriter.c
07-26-2005, 12:47 PM
As far as I can tell it's like math; you never really stop refining those early foundations. We spent over a year on the basics of the Old 38, carefully getting the breathing right and refining the movements through understanding of the applications. We still do that one form every time we walk in the door. At that year mark it wasn't that we'd mastered it, it was just that we could practice it on our own with sort of a clue.

I'm a beginner with 1.5 years and I've learned only that one form somewhat in depth, and another form to the point that I can get the general techniques down in an unrefined way but not understand all the applications well. At the 1.5-year mark most of my training is in footwork, breathing, fighting drills, push-hands, basic punching and stance training.

From what little I know about CMA, I'd say there's a steeper learning curve with Chen style than with many other styles. Most of the guys in my class are already very accomplished in other arts and see the value of the end product, though.

Hope that helps; maybe someone with some real time under their belt can give more insight.

William Dylan Powell

QuaiJohnCain
07-26-2005, 04:38 PM