PDA

View Full Version : How to generate interest in Hung Gar

todi
08-02-2005, 06:06 AM
This is my first post to the forum and I'm looking for some advice/comments to my training situation. Has anyone here had to learn their art in this way, training alone with no formal school? Currently, I study Hung Gar from a teacher that is highly regared in the the traditional CMA community. I started studying from him in the mid 70's when I was young and dumb and.... well, you know. Sifu had a small school here where I live and he taught well. I studied Hung Gar for approximately 3 years under him before a combination of events curtailed my studies (I sustained a problematic foot injury that took forever to heal and there was a falling out in the school with a senior student who defected wtih other students). Sifu had then left town, the school disbanded and my foot slowly healed.

I then tried studying Wing Chun from the student that had defected from the school and, after a year of that, decided it wasn't the right style for me. Despite this being a university town, it remaines devoid of any other traditional Chinese Martial Arts, except Wing Chun, and I had no desire to try any of the local store front karate studios or the other hybrid martial arts floating around. For the next almost 25 years I stayed in shape with running and lifting weights.