PDA

View Full Version : video of me doing bung bo!

Chief Fox
08-06-2005, 03:45 PM
Alright, here's another video of me. This time doing the one and only Bung bo.

I know there are a lot of mantis players out there so be kind, I am a novice. Although, I do welcome criticism.

Here it is: http://www.mccarriedesign.com/bungbo.mov

mantis108
08-06-2005, 05:19 PM
That's interesting. May I ask who taught you this or where this form comes into your style/training? There are extra pauses (ie after the first mantis stance) that's not "normally" done as far as I am aware. Other than that the form is more or less the same with HK Sevenstars.

Regards

Mantis108

Vash
08-06-2005, 08:15 PM
That's good stuff. I wish I could comment on the technique, though. But since I only know Mantis from videos such as this, and the movie Thundering Mantis - Shaolin Dolemite Collection (http://imdb.com/title/tt0087145/) , I can't. Looked like you knew what you were doing.

So, thumbs up!

Chief Fox
08-06-2005, 09:42 PM
That's interesting. May I ask who taught you this or where this form comes into your style/training? There are extra pauses (ie after the first mantis stance) that's not "normally" done as far as I am aware. Other than that the form is more or less the same with HK Sevenstars.

Regards

Mantis108
Hi, are you talking about the double backfist?

I learned the form from Sifu Nelson Horton who studied 7star Praying Mantis with the late Sifu David Chen. I think he studied in Hawaii. Not sure. This is one of the first forms that I learned.

I over emphasized the pauses between the movements because I'm recording the form for reference. I'm sure that my demonstration of the form probably doesn't have the correct essence of mantis in quickness.

I did a search on the web and found another video of someone doing bung bo. Here's the link: http://www.angelfire.com/film/mantiskungfu/bungbo.mov