PDA

View Full Version : Introductions + Shaolin in San Diego?

ProxRB
08-24-2005, 10:38 PM
This is kind of long, the first part is introduction, skip that if you so incline. I'm just excited and feeling giddy.

I've been lurking around for a few days now. Quite an interesting forum y'all have here. Quite an oasis from the commercialized "karate" (more like dancing) that bombards our world. Lately (with the onset of summer break and the consequential renting of multiple movies) I've began to think about martial arts a bit more. I studied some Shaolin before I moved out to California in 2002. 5 years of Shaolin to be precise. Our Shifu refered to his classes as "Shaolin Hung Mei" but I know we learned from more than just this branch of Shaolin, including some Hung Gar and Hung Men styles. I learned the 12 tan tui as well as their 2 man sets, as well as "Shi Zi Quan" (being ABC, the best I translate this to is "Cross Form"), "fu fu quan" (I dont recall the exact spelling of this, nor the Chinese pronunciation, so that is very vague), "Tai Tsu Yin Jiao" (Eagle Fist), the beginnings of Small Cannon Form, and the introductory forms for Qi Mei Gun (Eyebrow Length Staff) and basic grappling, as well as various more minor, shorter forms from a more disperse library of styles. Furthermore, I learned the head and tail of basic Lion Dancing on assorted apparatus and banners, and dragon dancing, yadda yadda yadda. The beautiful Chinese culture :D The reason I bother to type out all I've learned is because lurking around this forum, hearing others mention forms I was introduced to has brought me great pleasure. I love it.