PDA

View Full Version : kids against evil strangers

K.Brazier
08-27-2005, 04:00 PM
My sister told me of a type of class she heard of in Tampa.
Has anyone heard of this?
What can you say of it and what do you think?

<<<... taught children how to free themselves from a stranger if they needed to.* There was a little girl who took the class and the very next day a man grabbed her and tried to run away, but she was able to use everything she learned in that class and save her life.* This class was only available for a short time and I don't see it anywhere.>>>

It seems like a good idea.
Do kids classes do this?

Kevin

Sifu Darkfist
08-27-2005, 05:57 PM
it depends on the reason for the schools existence.
if it is only there as a belt farm then the answer is no.
my kids learn the real applications to mantis as soon as i deem them reliable non predatory students. the predatory bully types are not allowed in my class at all.
i choose who i want to teach. I am not teaching for a living i am living to teach.
I am sure many of you are the same. Moastly because you take the time to post it shows a high level of dedication.

Chief Fox
08-27-2005, 08:46 PM
What you describe sounds a lot like Kid Power. It's a non profit organization that first and foremost, teaches kids awareness and that it's ok to say NO! to an adult. They cover topics like, staying out of reach of strangers, identifying who can help you in a situation. They also have classes with the guy that is totally padded up so the kids can kick the crap out of him. My daughter and I took a two day class on awareness. I quiz her on it all the time.

The 3 rules of kid power are:
1. Be aware (always keep your head up and look around. Make eye contact with a a stranger but stay out of reach)
2. Take charge ( Hands up in defensive posture, say NO!, run to a place with people)
3. Get Help (go to the people you know will help, people working at a store, or a nearby house)