PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Using Deflections

Joseph
09-09-2005, 02:53 PM
Hey Everyone. This is my first time posting on this board. I am a 1 1/2 year Jun Fan/JKD practitioner. I know there's a JKD forum here, but I figured I'd ask you Wing Chun folk this question. Whenever I perform tan sao to deflect a straight punch, my tan sao always seems weak, and ends up collapsing laterally (e.g., right tan being pushed left). The way i perform tan sao is wrist about neck level, elbow 1-1 1/2 fist lengths from the body, upper arm parrallel to the ground, forearm extended about 135 degrees in relation to my upper arm, and fingers straight and in line with my forearm. I try to aim the tan sao towards my opponents throat (his centerline), but it seems if they throw anything but a wing chun straight punch, it simply will not work. I am only 5' 6" and 135lbs., so maybe the height difference (most of the people i train with are taller) makes a difference? (their strike is usually aimed at my nose) Maybe my angles off? And at what point should you convert tan sao to bil sao instead? Also, I see tan sao very commonly used against slightly rounded punches on the inside of the strike. How does this work so that the punch doesn't just crash your tan sao inwards? How can the tan be strengthened? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mortal1
09-09-2005, 03:08 PM
You need to pivot your waste while striking with the other hand. Your tansau should not be pointing at your opponents neck. It should be pointed outward and away. As should some other blocks. This gets your opponent off balance and allows you waste power in your punch.

When you start the block it might point at your opponents neck. Then it should sweep subtly outward.

Let me know how it works.

45degree fist
09-09-2005, 03:21 PM
I mainly use a tan sao for clearing space or trying to regain my lines in close range.