PDA

View Full Version : Shaolin / Internal Question

Ray Pina
09-19-2005, 11:41 AM
I often read that Ta Mo arrived and brought internal training to the monks at Shaolin. But Ta Mo is more widely known for bringing Buddhism to China.

How was there a Shaolin temple, with Buddhist monks in place already, if the man who brought it wasn't there yet?

Just curious.

Also, I've been reading a lot about the back and forth about what "Internal" is ... and how Sun Lu Tang penned the term.

This is incorrect. I've been a student of the Tao for some time. Outside of martial arts there were two kinds of taoists: those who sought immortality from external means (the elixir pill) and those who sought it from stransforming themselves from the inside through nourishing the chi and breathing. By controlling their sexual energy. Seperating orgasm and ejaculation .... they are not the same.

This is why I always :rolleyes: when I hear all these styles have "internal" but then their practice is 100% against internal principles. Such as Hung Gar's use of the heavy arm rings. This couldn't be more wrong, from an internal standpoint.

PangQuan
09-19-2005, 11:58 AM
http://ezine.kungfumagazine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38368

hey ray. this thread might answer some of your tamo questions.

EarthDragon
09-19-2005, 12:05 PM
Ray,
Boddhidharma (Da Mo) did not bring buddhism to china, it had exsisted there for hundreds of years prior to 525.A.D his arrival.

Rather he was a teacher of Buddhism and traveled to China after giving up his worldly wealth and inheritence as his father was a king.

a cras and very short version is said he crossed the Himalaya's then deccending from the summit attempted to cross the Yangsee river on a reed, but this is misinturpurted as a reed was not a blade of the stickle plant but a reed was the name of a small boat during that time.