PDA

View Full Version : Don't want to be disrespectful but...

Chief Fox
10-12-2005, 12:21 PM
I think my school might just be all about collecting forms.

A little background:
I've been at my current school for 3 years. I am a mid ranking student. There are only 4 students above my level and 3 others at my current level. I know 23 forms but I must admit, I don't know all of them how I would like. In fact I don't know most of them how I would like. I really like the school but sometimes I feel like my sifu is giving me and the other students at my level too much material. So much that we could never learn all about a form because we now have to move on to the next one. My friend calls it the inch deep mile wide approach. I would much rather prefer the inch wide mile deep approach.

Anyway, I'm not interesting in switching schools. There's not a lot of options. I'm considering just telling my sifu that I want to slow down and really focus on what I have.

Don't get me wrong about the school. We spar regularly but it's difficult to apply what we learn in forms to sparring because there is so much material. I feel like I know nothing at the level at which I should.

Any thoughts?

MasterKiller
10-12-2005, 12:38 PM
I thought you had a steep curriculum last time you posted your testing requirements. Seemed like an awful lot of forms.

Are ALL of those forms required to advance rank?

How many of those 23 are weapons?

HearWa
10-12-2005, 12:45 PM
Wow, this should be interesting. That's exactly the situation I'm in, except I know seven forms and I've been there approximately six years. I can do the forms, and can even do a few rather well (I've won a few first place trophys for form performances).