PDA

View Full Version : Using Kung Fu Against Boxing

superman859
10-19-2005, 06:37 AM
I have practiced Kung Fu and other more traditional martial arts. I recently joined a Mixed Martial Arts Club however at my school. Mostly they seem to work on western boxing/muy thai and wrestling.

We have done some sparring and I am finding it pretty difficult to use my knowledge against the people who are using boxing. I end up getting punched in the face a lot. The jabs just come fast and they are trying to get me to change my style to be more like boxing but I would prefer not to if there is a better way. I am not good at boxing so sparring against someone who is boxing is hard. On top of that, the gloves we have been using are normal boxing gloves so you can't really grab anything.

Does anyone have any advice for sparring against boxing? I have noticed that kicks would be good since they are only guarding their face, but at the club they havent let us use kicks when sparring yet, kind of a disappointment.

David Jamieson
10-19-2005, 06:47 AM
Don't be linear in your footwork. If you move straight back while someone is moving in on you, you are giving it to them like a cheap ho.

If you change direction, the attacker must also do so, in any event, the attacker will have to use more energy than you to continue to follow and commit to his attack, in the meantime, you have ample sidedoor opportunities.

Keep your guard up, learn how to tighten your sh1t up and cover. There are very simple techniques to cover against boxers strikes. They're in your kungfu most likely, it's possible you are using gross textbook motions instead of realistic shorter structures, this is a failing of many kungfu fighters, I regard it as a failing of a school to not introduce the concepts of the changing shape, tightening up and so on.