PDA

View Full Version : Typical CLF Curriculum

adwired
10-20-2005, 12:24 PM
I’ve been training in CLF for about 4 weeks now and I was wondering about the typical curriculum. My classes always start with a 30-minute workout followed by another 30 minutes of either forms or drills (depending on the day) but we never seem to cover the basics (stances, blocks, punches, kicks, etc…) that make up those forms or drills. Are these typically covered separately or am I suppose to pick them up as a result of doing the more complex forms or drills? I’m new to CLF but I’m coming from a Kempo background that seems to follow a more defined curriculum, basics first then leading up to more advanced stuff. The CLF seems to be more disorganized.

Ou Ji
10-20-2005, 12:55 PM
Chinese styles seem to be disorganized when coming from a Japanese style. At least that's how I viewed it when making the switch. It takes a little getting used to and of course there are pros and cons also.

I can't help wondereing what drills (block, punch, kick?) you are doing if you aren't practicing basics?

Fu-Pow
10-20-2005, 01:11 PM
I’ve been training in CLF for about 4 weeks now and I was wondering about the typical curriculum. My classes always start with a 30-minute workout followed by another 30 minutes of either forms or drills (depending on the day) but we never seem to cover the basics (stances, blocks, punches, kicks, etc…) that make up those forms or drills. Are these typically covered separately or am I suppose to pick them up as a result of doing the more complex forms or drills? I’m new to CLF but I’m coming from a Kempo background that seems to follow a more defined curriculum, basics first then leading up to more advanced stuff. The CLF seems to be more disorganized.